More from Emily’s wedding from Simon’s phone (as usual, more interesting than mine!):

Paper crowns forever!  
 Dancing with Dad 
And my first real batch of apiaceae, phaseolus vulgaris, and cucurbits: 

(This time, I chose to plant carrots that are supposed to come out short and stubby by design rather than poor gardening skills…although that’s clearly still in the mix.)

It’s been unseasonably hot here for several days. It started in June and I think we’re supposed to stay in the 90s until mid July… We caved and bought an air conditioner for sleeping, and tonight we went out to dinner and then retreated to a movie theater to escape the heat of our house. It hit over 100 today, and the house is struggling more and more to cool off at night. 

In other news, tomorrow is the six-month anniversary of Mr. Dog’s death. It’s pretty unreal. I’ve been thinking about it all week. I feel as though I need to mark it somehow but I don’t know what to do. In some ways it feels more like acknowledging we’ve somehow stumbled along this long without him, rather than a celebration of our little man. But I still feel compelled to do something for him. What a six months it’s been. As I predicted in my New Years post, this year would only be tougher than the last…